Aug 19, 2021

Best Lawyers in America Recognizes 66 SGR Attorneys in 2022 Edition


ATLANTA (August 19, 2021) – Smith, Gambrell & Russell, LLP (SGR) is pleased to announce that 66 of its attorneys were selected for inclusion in the 2022 Edition of The Best Lawyers in America, the leading peer-review-based directory of legal practitioners. SGR has continued to increase the number of firm attorneys recognized by Best Lawyers® each year.

Since it was first published in 1983, Best Lawyers has become universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence. Best Lawyers lists are compiled based on an exhaustive peer review evaluation. Almost 113,000 industry leading lawyers are eligible to vote (from around the world), and we have received more than 15 million evaluations on the legal abilities of other lawyers based on their specific practice areas around the world. For the 2022 edition of The Best Lawyers in America©, more than 10.8 million votes were analyzed, which resulted in more than 66,000 leading lawyers being included in the new edition. Lawyers are not required or allowed to pay a fee to be listed; therefore inclusion in Best Lawyers is considered a singular honor.

The following SGR attorneys were named to 2022 The Best Lawyers in America list in their respective practice areas:


Ronald E. Barab (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law)
Thomas D. Bever (Bet-the-Company Litigation; Commercial Litigation: Criminal Defense: White-Collar)
Elizabeth G. Borland (Litigation – Intellectual Property)
Benjamin J. Brooks (Banking and Finance Law; Public Finance Law)
Edward D. Burch, Jr. (Litigation – Real Estate)
David J. Burge (Real Estate Law)
Scott D. Cahalan (Construction Law; Litigation – Construction)
Matthew W. Clarke (Employment Law – Management)
Alexander S. Clay (Real Estate Law)
Anthony L. Cochran (Administrative / Regulatory Law; Commercial Litigation; Criminal Defense: White-Collar)
Randall A. Constantine (Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law; Employment Law – Management; Labor Law – Management* Lawyer of the Year; Litigation – ERISA; Litigation – Labor and Employment)
Peter M. Crofton (Construction Law)
Mark C. de St. Aubin (Construction Law; Litigation – Construction)
Marcia M. Ernst (Commercial Litigation)
John C. Ethridge, Jr. (Corporate Law; Mergers and Acquisitions Law)
Stephen M. Forte (Commercial Litigation; Litigation – Banking and Finance)
Brian P. Hall (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law)
Michael F. Holbein (Commercial Litigation)
J.D. Humphries III (Commercial Litigation; Construction Law; Employment Law – Management; Labor Law – Management; Litigation – Construction)
Gregory J. Kirsch (Litigation – Patent; Patent Law)
Dale Lischer (Litigation – Intellectual Property; Patent Law)
Brett Lockwood (Information Technology Law; Privacy and Data Security Law; Technology Law)
William F. Long (Litigation – Intellectual Property; Litigation – Patent; Patent Law)
Joseph C. Mandarino (Tax Law)
James P. Monacell (Public Finance Law)
James H. Morgan, Jr. (Trusts and Estates)
Ansly P. Moyer (Public Finance Law)
David Newman (Commercial Litigation)
Stephen E. O’Day (Energy Law; Environmental Law; Litigation – Environmental)
Mark G. Pottorff (Real Estate Law)
Darren G. Rowles (Construction Law)
Leah Ward Sears (Appellate Practice; Commercial Litigation)
Gregory K. Smith (Construction Law; Litigation – Construction)
John H. Spillman (Corporate Law; Mergers and Acquisitions Law)
Thomas A. Spillman (Real Estate Law)
Richard W. Stephens (Real Estate Law)
Andrew M. Thompson (Environmental Law; Litigation – Environmental)
Matthew P. Warenzak (Litigation – Intellectual Property)
Laura L. Wartner (Tax Law)
Edward H. Wasmuth, Jr. (Commercial Litigation)
Kathryn M. Zickert (Land Use and Zoning Law* Lawyer of the Year; Litigation – Land Use and Zoning)


Jill F. Bechtold (Product Liability Litigation – Defendants; Professional Malpractice Law – Defendants)
Dana G. Bradford II (Commercial Litigation; Litigation – Insurance; Product Liability Litigation – Defendants)
Steven E. Brust (Commercial Litigation; Litigation – Insurance; Litigation – Securities)
Adam J. Buss (Corporate Governance Law; Corporate Law; Mergers and Acquisitions Law)
Edward K. Cottrell (Commercial Litigation; Litigation – Insurance)
Melissa A. Dearing (Employment Law – Management* Lawyer of the Year; Litigation – Labor and Employment)
Brandon C. Dodd (Real Estate Law)
Andrew J. Fawbush (Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law)
Scott S. Gallagher (Commercial Litigation)
Thomas E. Gibbs (Corporate Law; Insurance Law)
Patricia J. Hill (Employment Law – Management; Labor Law – Management)
John P. Marino (Commercial Litigation; Litigation – Insurance)
James R. McCachren III (Commercial Litigation)
James B. Porter (Real Estate Law)
Katharine F. Rowe (Trademark Law)
Alan S. Wachs (Commercial Litigation; Insurance Law; Litigation – Insurance* Lawyer of the Year; Litigation – Intellectual Property)

Los Angeles

Patrick J. Cain (Trusts and Estates)
John D. Pettker (Litigation – Trusts and Estates; Trusts and Estates)


Jeffrey S. Tenen (Corporate Law; Derivatives and Futures Law; Securitization and Structured Finance Law* Lawyer of the Year; Transportation Law)

New York

Roger Juan Maldonado (Litigation – Intellectual Property)
Dana L. Mark (Trusts and Estates)
Victor M. Metsch (Litigation – Real Estate)
John T. Van Der Tuin (Litigation – Real Estate)
Russell Wolfson (Construction Law)

Washington, D.C.

Thomas G. Wiseman (Biotechnology and Life Sciences Practice)

Five partners, Randall A. Constantine, Melissa A. Dearing, Jeffrey S. Tenen, Alan S. Wachs, and Kathryn M. Zickert were also recognized by Best Lawyers as 2022 “Lawyer of the Year” in their respective practice areas. Additionally, 13 attorneys were named to 2022 Best Lawyers: Ones to Watch in their respective practice areas in the category’s second year.

About Best Lawyers®
Best Lawyers is the oldest and most respected lawyer ranking service in the world. For 40 years, Best Lawyers has assisted those in need of legal services to identify the lawyers best qualified to represent them in distant jurisdictions or unfamiliar specialties. Best Lawyers awards are published in leading local, regional and national publications across the globe. Visit for more information.

About Smith, Gambrell & Russell, LLP
SGR is a full service, international law firm that advises regional, national and global businesses on a wide range of legal matters. The firm’s 250 attorneys provide legal counsel in more than 45 specialized practice areas, including corporate transactions, litigation, intellectual property, aviation, banking, real estate, construction, employment law, and employee benefits and executive compensation. Founded in 1893, SGR has offices in Atlanta, Austin, Jacksonville, London, Los Angeles, Miami, Munich, New York, Southampton, and Washington, D.C.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap