Aug 20, 2020

Best Lawyers in America© Recognizes 63 SGR Attorneys in 2021


ATLANTA (August 20, 2020) – Smith, Gambrell & Russell, LLP (SGR) is pleased to announce that 63 of its attorneys were selected for inclusion in the 2021 edition of The Best Lawyers in America©, the leading peer-review-based directory of legal practitioners. SGR has continued to increase the number of firm attorneys recognized each year, with 18 additional selected in 2021.

Four Partners, Randall A. Constantine, Jeffrey S. Tenen, Andrew M. Thompson, and Kathryn M. Zickert were recognized as “Lawyer of the Year” in their respective practice areas. Additionally, Associates Danielle R. Burnette, William E. Burnett, Christopher B. De Los Reyes, N. Vincent Pulignano III, and Dexterrie C. Ramirez were recognized as 2021 Best Lawyers: “Ones to Watch” in their respective practice areas in the category’s first year.

The following SGR attorneys were selected for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America© in their respective practice areas for 2021:

Ronald E. Barab (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law)

Thomas D. Bever (Bet-the-Company Litigation; Commercial Litigation: Criminal Defense: White-Collar)

Elizabeth G. Borland (Litigation – Intellectual Property)

Benjamin J. Brooks (Banking and Finance Law; Public Finance Law)

David J. Burge (Real Estate Law)

Scott D. Cahalan (Construction Law; Litigation – Construction)

Alexander S. Clay (Real Estate Law)

Anthony L. Cochran (Administrative / Regulatory Law; Criminal Defense: White-Collar)

Randall A. Constantine (Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law; Employment Law – Management; Labor Law – Management; Litigation – ERISA* Lawyer of the Year; Litigation – Labor and Employment)

Bruce I. Crabtree (Corporate Law)

Peter M. Crofton (Construction Law)

Mark C. de St. Aubin (Construction Law; Litigation – Construction)

Marcia M. Ernst (Commercial Litigation)

John C. Ethridge, Jr. (Mergers and Acquisitions Law)

Stephen M. Forte (Commercial Litigation; Litigation – Banking and Finance)

Brian P. Hall (Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law)

J.D. Humphries III (Commercial Litigation; Construction Law; Employment Law – Management; Labor Law – Management; Litigation – Construction)

Gregory J. Kirsch (Litigation – Patent; Patent Law)

Dale Lischer (Litigation – Intellectual Property; Patent Law)

Brett Lockwood (Information Technology Law; Privacy and Data Security Law; Technology Law)

William F. Long (Litigation – Intellectual Property; Litigation – Patent; Patent Law)

J. Rodgers Lunsford III (Litigation – Intellectual Property; Trademark Law)

Joseph C. Mandarino (Tax Law)

James P. Monacell (Public Finance Law)

James H. Morgan, Jr. (Trusts and Estates)

Ansly P. Moyer (Public Finance Law)

David Newman (Commercial Litigation)

Stephen E. O’Day (Energy Law; Environmental Law; Litigation – Environmental)

Mark G. Pottorff (Real Estate Law)

Thomas W. Rhodes (Antitrust Law)

Darren G. Rowles (Construction Law)

Leah Ward Sears (Appellate Practice; Commercial Litigation)

Gregory K. Smith (Litigation – Construction)

John H. Spillman (Corporate Law; Mergers and Acquisitions Law)

Richard W. Stephens (Real Estate Law)

Andrew M. Thompson (Environmental Law; Litigation – Environmental* Lawyer of the Year)

Charles Vorndran (Biotechnology and Life Sciences)

Matthew P. Warenzak (Litigation – Intellectual Property)

Laura L. Wartner (Tax Law)

Edward H. Wasmuth, Jr. (Commercial Litigation)

Dennis J. Webb, Jr. (Insurance Law)

Kathryn M. Zickert (Land Use and Zoning Law; Litigation – Land Use and Zoning* Lawyer of the Year)

Dana G. Bradford II (Commercial Litigation; Litigation – Insurance; Product Liability Litigation – Defendants)

Steven E. Brust (Commercial Litigation; Litigation – Securities)

Adam J. Buss (Corporate Governance Law; Corporate Law; Mergers and Acquisitions Law)

Edward K. Cottrell (Commercial Litigation)

Melissa A. Dearing (Employment Law – Management; Litigation – Labor and Employment)

Andrew J. Fawbush (Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law)

Scott S. Gallagher (Commercial Litigation)

Thomas E. Gibbs (Corporate Law; Insurance Law)

Patricia J. Hill (Employment Law – Management; Labor Law – Management)

John P. Marino (Commercial Litigation; Litigation – Insurance)

James R. McCachren III (Commercial Litigation)

James B. Porter (Real Estate Law)

Katharine F. Rowe (Trademark Law)

Alan S. Wachs (Commercial Litigation; Insurance Law; Litigation – Insurance; Litigation – Intellectual Property)

Los Angeles
John D. Pettker (Litigation – Trusts and Estates; Trusts and Estates)

Jeffrey S. Tenen (Corporate Law; Derivatives and Futures Law* Lawyer of the Year; Securitization and Structured Finance Law; Transportation Law)

New York
Roger Juan Maldonado (Litigation – Intellectual Property)

Dana Mark (Trusts and Estates)

Victor M. Metsch (Litigation – Real Estate)

Russell Wolfson (Construction Law)

Washington, D.C.
Thomas G. Wiseman (Biotechnology and Life Sciences Practice)

About Best Lawyers®
Since it was first published in 1983, Best Lawyers® has become universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence. Best Lawyers lists are compiled based on an exhaustive peer review evaluation. Almost 108,000 industry leading lawyers are eligible to vote (from around the world), and we have received over 13 million evaluations on the legal abilities of other lawyers based on their specific practice areas around the world. For the 2021 Edition of The Best Lawyers in America©, 9.4 million votes were analyzed, which resulted in more than 67,000 leading lawyers being included in the new edition. Lawyers are not required or allowed to pay a fee to be listed; therefore inclusion in Best Lawyers is considered a singular honor. Visit for more information.

About Smith, Gambrell & Russell, LLP
SGR is a full service, international law firm that advises regional, national and global businesses on a wide range of legal matters. The firm’s 250 attorneys provide legal counsel in more than 45 specialized practice areas, including corporate transactions, litigation, intellectual property, aviation, banking, real estate, construction, employment law, and employee benefits and executive compensation. Founded in 1893, SGR has offices in Atlanta, Austin, Jacksonville, London, Los Angeles, Miami, Munich, New York, Southampton, and Washington, D.C.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap