Sep 7, 2018

Why Worry About Community Property?

Community Property

In the United States, there are nine community property states: Arizona, California, Idaho, Louisiana, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, Washington and Wisconsin. Additionally, Alaska, Tennessee and Puerto Rico are elective community property jurisdictions. If you are reading this and you do not reside in one of these states, you might have thought to yourself, “I am so glad I can skip this and get back to today’s crossword.”  But whether it’s for a career change, retirement or other reason, community property laws will affect your estate planning if you have lived in or relocate to a community property state at some… Read more