Sep 3, 2015

Five Members of SGR’s IP Practice Chosen to Serve on Committees for the International Trademark Association

SGR is pleased to announce five members of the intellectual property practice have been chosen to serve on committees for the International Trademark Association (INTA). These appointments are for the 2016-2017 term.

Elizabeth Borland has been appointed to the Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) Committee.  The ADR Committee is responsible for promoting and raising awareness of the benefits of ADR including overseeing a panel of trademark mediators located across the globe who understand trademark law. The committee also works closely with INTA’s In-House Practitioners Committee to offer programs suited to in-house needs.

Jim Bikoff has been appointed to the Internet Committee. As part of the Internet Committee, Bikoff is responsible for helping direct INTA’s efforts of ensuring that trademarks receive the same protection on the Internet as they do in the brick-and-mortar world, and to enable consumers to make safe, reliable and informed choices about the products and services they seek on the Internet.

Scott Woldow has been appointed to the Government Officials Education and Training Committee. INTA’s Government Officials Education and Training Committee develops educational programs specifically designed for government officials and intellectual property office employees. This includes content development, identification of speakers and moderators, support with course materials development and review, and program implementation.

Darlene Klinksieck has been appointed to the Non-Traditional Marks Committee. The Non-Traditional Marks Committee’s mission is to evaluate treaties, laws, regulations and procedures relating to the protection of non-traditional trademarks (NTMs), such as sound, color and trade dress, and to develop and advocate policies to advance balanced protection for NTMs. It is divided into six regional subcommittees: Canada, the United States, Europe and Central Asia, MEASA, East Asia and Pacific and Latin America and the Caribbean.

Rich Rivera has been appointed to the Bulletin Committee. The INTA Bulletin Committee’s main objective is to generate and coordinate relevant and helpful articles and news reports, with global coverage, for each newsletter. The Bulletin is circulated bi-monthly to over 30,000 trademark professionals in over 190 countries.

Additionally, Joyce Klemmer continues to serve in her role as a member of the INTA Panel of Trademark Mediators (PTM). The PTM is an important resource INTA makes available to those seeking an impartial third party to assist in resolving trademark and related intellectual property disputes. The PTM includes mediators who are fluent in various languages and understand mediation standards in a number of countries and regions and is the world’s only panel of mediators with a focus in trademark and unfair competition law

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap