Nov 8, 2019

Six SGR Attorneys Appointed to INTA Committees for 2020-2021 Term

ATLANTA (November 8, 2019) – Smith, Gambrell & Russell, LLP (SGR) is pleased to announce the six firm attorneys who have been appointed to International Trademark Association (INTA) committees for the 2020-2021 term. INTA appoints committee volunteers to carry out trademark-related initiatives and programs. Committee members fulfill their responsibilities by promptly and thoughtfully completing their committee’s mission statement.

The following SGR Intellectual Property Practice attorneys will begin service to their respective committees beginning January 1, 2020:

James Bikoff, a partner in SGR’s Washington, D.C. office, has been selected to serve as a member of the Data Protection Committee. The Data Protection Committee develops and advocates INTA’s policy regarding the impact of data protection law on trademark rights.

A partner in the firm’s Atlanta office, Elizabeth Borland has been appointed to the Brand Restrictions Committee. The Brand Restrictions Committee develops and advocates INTA’s policy regarding the impact of brand restrictions on trademark and related rights.

Holly Lance, counsel in SGR’s Washington, D.C. office, has been selected to the Public Information Committee. This committee educates the general public, including educational institutions, small business owners, marketing experts, policy makers, designers, and the media, about the importance of trademarks and brands.

A partner in the firm’s Jacksonville office, Richard Rivera has been appointed to serve on The Trademark Reporter Committee. The Trademark Reporter Committee produces The Trademark Reporter (TMR), which has delivered cutting-edge, peer-reviewed legal scholarship on trademarks, brands, and related areas of intellectual property to practitioners, academics, and courts in the United States and around the globe since 1911.

Kate Rowe, a partner in SGR’s Jacksonville office, has been selected to the Brands for a Better Society Committee. The Brands for a Better Society Committee demonstrates how brands positively impact society and build consumer trust through corporate social responsibility, diversity and inclusion, and pro bono initiatives by increasing awareness among members of the value of these activities, engaging targeted stakeholders, and informing the public about efforts undertaken by INTA and its members.

A partner in and section head of the firm’s Washington, D.C. Intellectual Property Practice, Scott Woldow has been selected to the Trademark Office Practice Committee and has been appointed to serve as the Subcommittee Chairperson. The Trademark Office Practice Committee works with the United States Patent and Trademark Office to evaluate and recommend improvements to trademark office practices, procedures, operations, and regulations at the national, regional, and international levels.

About INTA
The International Trademark Association (INTA) is a global association of brand owners and professionals dedicated to supporting trademarks and related intellectual property (IP) to foster consumer trust, economic growth, and innovation. Members include more than 7,200 trademark owners, professionals, and academics from 191 countries, who benefit from the Association’s global trademark resources, policy development, education and training, and international network. Founded in 1878, INTA is headquartered in New York City, with offices in Brussels, Santiago, Shanghai, Singapore, and Washington, D.C., and representatives in Geneva and New Delhi. For more information, please visit

About Smith, Gambrell & Russell, LLP
SGR is a full service, international law firm that advises regional, national and global businesses on a wide range of legal matters. The firm’s 250 attorneys provide legal counsel in more than 45 specialized practice areas, including aviation, corporate transactions, litigation, intellectual property, banking, real estate, construction, employment law, and employee benefits and executive compensation. Founded in 1893, SGR has offices in Atlanta; Austin; Jacksonville; London; Los Angeles; Miami; Munich; New York; Southampton, U.K; and Washington, D.C.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap